Sorry, our help centre doesn't currently work in browsers set to 'private mode', please disable and reload the page to continue.
Remember artists: The payment cycle runs from the 15th-20th each month. Learn more here.
#

Restricted and Deleted Accounts

I received a warning from Redbubble. What does it mean?
My account was restricted. How do I get my account reinstated?
Why was my account deleted? How do I get my account reinstated?

I received a warning from Redbubble. What does it mean?

If you’ve received a warning, it usually means that you’ve already had a few works removed from your account as a result of complaints from rights holders. We want to make sure that you continue to follow our content guidelines and a warning is a reminder from us that you need to review your works and make sure everything is in line with our User Agreement. You must comply with our User Agreement and other published policies. If you receive multiple warnings, it may lead to your account being restricted or deleted.  

Why was my account restricted, and how do I get it reinstated?

If your account has been restricted, it means that the works in your account may not be in line with Redbubble’s User Agreement or other published policies. In most cases, this depends on whether rights holders have repeatedly claimed that your artworks infringe. The restriction period is your chance to remove any content that may be in violation of our guidelines, especially any works that may violate someone else’s intellectual property or publicity rights. While your account is restricted, your works are not available for sale, but you may log into your account and remove any works that are in violation of our guidelines.

We know that it can be difficult to figure out which content to remove and which are okay when it comes to infringement of others’ rights.

It’s important to understand that Redbubble cannot help you figure out which of your works are problematic, but it’s safe to say that if you’re not sure, you should probably err on the side of caution and remove them. A rights holder may contact us in the future about infringing content, and we don’t know in advance what they will allege is infringing, so it’s best to play it safe. It’s your responsibility, as the seller of your work, to ensure all of the artwork you upload to Redbubble is in line with the Redbubble User Agreement, IP and Publicity Rights Policy, other policies and applicable law.   

Some important things to remember:

  • Whether your account has been restricted or not, it’s always a good idea to pay special attention to any of your works that use elements of other people’s creations.
  • As a general matter, you should continuously review your account whenever one of your works is removed.

Once you’ve reviewed your account and removed any content that may violate our guidelines, you can respond to the email we sent you about the restriction and let us know that you have reviewed your account. We will then review your account and notify you whether your account will be reinstated.

Why was my account deleted? How do I get it reinstated?

Unfortunately, we sometimes need to delete accounts that we find to be in deliberate misuse of our policies. If your account is deleted, it cannot be reinstated. Any other accounts found to be owned or operated by you will also be deleted. 


Obligatory Yet Very Important Legal Disclaimer:

Don’t be fooled by any complicated jargon (and how snazzy we look in pinstripe). We are not your lawyer and this is not legal advice. We recommend contacting an attorney if you need an actual legal consultation.

Rather, this is general information aimed at giving you the legal lay of the land. While we can’t defend you in court, we know that art and IP ownership can be murky territory; the least we can do is arm you with the right kind of knowledge to get you started.

 

Was this article helpful?