The decision to close Groups has been made with a lot of thought about the impact on Hosts who have dedicated time to their Groups. We’re very grateful for all the effort Hosts have put into Groups over the years. They have played an important part in Redbubble’s evolution and growth.
Our number one mission is to provide the best platform for Artists to sell their work. That means making choices about how we invest time and resources. Groups were built on an older platform, and are connected to many parts of the site that we’re upgrading. It’s becoming increasingly difficult for us to maintain them without significant investment.
Over the past few years, we’ve also seen big changes in how artists are using social media to interact with each other. They’re investing more time growing their own networks of fans, customers, and artists on other social platforms. And sites like Facebook have developed far more sophisticated offerings for Groups.
We've prepared an FAQ to touch base on some questions you might have around this whole process and the future of Groups.
When will Groups be closed?
All groups will be officially closed at the end of March 2020.
Do I need to notify my Group Members?
We have emailed all group members and hosts to notify them. You may wish to post a message in your forum or on your group’s overview page, linking them to this FAQ.
Do I need to do anything to my Group?
You don’t need to take any action but you may wish to copy anything you want to keep, e.g. your group intro or forum content, in case you’d like to move your Group to another platform like Facebook.
How can I move my Group to Facebook?
We’ve provided some info here to help you if you’re interested in moving your Group to Facebook.
What will happen to the works I’ve added to Groups?
Group closures will not impact your work in any way. Your works will automatically be removed from Groups when they are closed.
Do I need to remove my works or leave my Groups?
No, you don’t need to do anything. You will be removed from Groups automatically when they are closed.
Will Groups still appear in the Uploader?
Groups will appear in the uploader until they’re closed. After this time, you will no longer see the ‘add to groups’ section at the bottom of the uploader.
We understand that this is a sensitive matter for many of you. Please feel welcome to share your thoughts in this feedback survey.